Nanded Municipal Corporation election results: Congress makes clean sweep, BJP suffers defeat

Nanded Municipal Corporation election results: Congress makes clean sweep, BJP suffers defeat

In the recent elections to the 16 municipal corporations, the BJP came to power in 13.

Congress have taken the lead in Chavan's stronghold.

Results for 54 seats, out of the total 81, have been declared so far.

Nanded (Maharashtra): Counting of votes in Nanded where polling to elect the new 81-member Nanded Waghala City Municipal Corporation (NWCMC) were held on Wednesday will start at 10:00 am, election officer said.

Worst air pollution levels ever in Bay Area
Wildfire smoke can be risky to our health and even those who are healthy can get sick if there is enough smoke in the air. In the Bay Area, that means six different organizations have pledged to donate $450,000 for fire relief efforts.

But her daughter-in-law Jagruti Patil made a decision to contest the election on a BJP ticket.

Nanded is Maharashtra Congress president Ashok Chavan's home turf and it saw an aggressive campaign, with BJP making all efforts to wrest control of the civic body. If the Sena withdraws support to the BJP, the Fadnavis government will be in a minorit and will need help from Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party or NCP.The BJP dramatically improved its performance in this year's BMC election from the 31 wards that it had won last time. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul muslimeen (AIMIM) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) are also expected to play a crucial role. Elections to the civic body were held on Wednesday. For Bhandup by-poll, Shiv Sena fielded Minakshi Patil, wife of Bhandup MLA Ashok Patil, while the BJP nominated Jagruti Patil, who is a daughter-in-law of deceased Pramila Patil as its candidate.

Congress that is now ruling the civic body is seeking to retain it while the BJP, that has been thumping all other parties in most local body polls is seeking to seize power in Nanded.

In 2012, the Congress bagged 41 seats, Shiv Sena 14, AIMIM and NCP 10 each, BJP two while independents and others notched three seats. Devendra Fadnavis has led the BJP's high pitched battle for the civic body election. The AIMIM, which contested the 2012 Nanded Maha Nagar Palika election for the first time, had won 11 seats.

Related Articles