Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray has led Oklahoma to a 12-1 record, a Big 12 championship and a berth in the College Football Playoff semifinals, where the Sooners will face Alabama in the Orange Bowl.

Kyler Murray is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth overall to win the award since it was established in 1998. Tagovailoa also won the Walter Camp Award, another award that goes to the best player in the country.

Murray and Tagovailoa will then face each other in the College Football Playoff, when No. 1 Alabama plays No. 4 Oklahoma at the Orange Bowl semifinal on December 29.

Murray didn't go home empty-handed either. Murray took home the Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the best quarterback. Through 13 games, the sophomore has completed 67.7 percent of his passes for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns.

Cruel Injury Blow, 4 Could Miss Huddersfield But Defender Returns
Today it's very early because this morning we have been working, but with the players who didn't play yesterday. He's had an outstanding year so far and this injury could affect him for the rest of his career.

Winning both the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards is an encouraging sign for Tagovailoa.

The last five Walter Camp winners won the Heisman Trophy and the last four Maxwell winners have won the Heisman. The last Walter Camp victor to miss out on the Heisman was Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year.

This year's Heisman Trophy ceremony will be aired on ESPN at 7 p.m. CT from the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square. Murray and Tua will battle it out once again for the Heisman, but Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins remains a dark-horse for the award.

Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in college football history. "Maybe the most productive for the time that he played..."

Related Articles