Here’s How to Unsend Messages on Facebook Messenger

Here’s How to Unsend Messages on Facebook Messenger

The feature first appeared last April after Facebook chief executive Mark Zuckerberg was discovered to have deleted messages he had previously sent. When that option is chosen, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat.

Participants in a group conversation receive a message saying "This message was deleted" to alert them of the change.

If you've ever sent a text only to immediately regret it or your finger slipped on the wrong gif and you sheepishly now have to explain yourself, Facebook Messenger has heard you.

Now, almost a year later, that feature is rolling out to Messenger users.

Facebook is letting users remove messages even if they've already been seen by other users, but obviously you won't be able to remove that embarrassing photo from their mind. "You're not the only one".

New Handmaid’s Tale trailer urges America to ‘wake up’
In the trailer, we see that Offred is back living amongst her fellow handmaid's, having nearly escaped at the end of season 2. Then, the clip cuts to Offred, who issues a call to action to the residents of Gilead: "Wake up America, morning's over".

Apparently, Zuckerberg got the preferential Messenger treatment from his own company after the 2014 Sony Pictures email hacks, when a hacker group known as "Guardians Of Peace" leaked a giant stash of stolen, confidential movie industry info. Instead, we're limited by a timer of 10 minutes that starts ticking down the moment the offending message is originally sent.

Facebook Messenger is finally rolling out the unsend button it promised almost a year ago.

Writing on the social network, Zuckerberg celebrated Facebook's rise from his college dorm room to a service used by more than 2.7 billion people.

Facebook said at the time that the messages were deleted for security purposes, and promised to add the delete feature to users as a whole.

TechCrunch reported that Mark Zuckerberg's messages disappeared from chats while the other party's messages remained, causing a stir.

Related Articles