Arcata High Students Will Participate in Tomorrow's Global Youth Climate Strike

Arcata High Students Will Participate in Tomorrow's Global Youth Climate Strike

Now, the young trailblazer is calling on students from around the world to follow her lead and participate in a global school strike on March 15.

Because of her efforts to combat climate change and save the planet - and inspire young people around the world to do the same - the Swedish teen has been nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize by three Norwegian lawmakers.

Greta Thunberg, in August past year, became the face of a "school strike" outside the Swedish parliament building.

Over the past half year, Thunberg has been taking world leaders to task over climate inaction with blunt, fiery speeches. One of the leaders the young girl mentioned in a message to digital video publisher Brut India was Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

"Honoured and very grateful for this nomination", Thunberg tweeted early Thursday morning.

Her successful campaigning has resulted in her giving lectures at the UN Climate Talks and World Economic Forum. "Greta Thunberg has launched a mass movement which I see as a major contribution to peace".

People were calling the police because Instagram and Facebook were down
Today, Facebook boasts 2.3 billion monthly users, The Verge reports , making the recent outage the worst yet for the company. The agreements let the companies see users' friends, contact information and other data, sometimes without consent.

Malala Yousafzai now holds the record for youngest Nobel laureate after she won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014 at the age of 17. Tomorrow we #schoolstrike for our future.

Thunberg, 16, has encouraged students to skip school to join protests demanding faster action on climate change, a movement that has spread beyond Sweden to other European nations.

"More people are starting to become aware of the situation and that we are facing a crisis", Thunberg said on CBSN Thursday.

There are 301 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize for 2019, out of which 223 are individuals and 78 are organisations, says the Nobel committee on its website. The names of the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates will be announced that month.

The Nobel Peace Prize past year went to Congo's Denis Mukwege and Iraq's Nadia Murad for "their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict", according to the Nobel Committee's ruling.

Related Articles